Skip to content
Kernavique
Menu

Locations · Arizona

Data center and AI infrastructure teams in Phoenix

Kernavique finds commissioning managers, mission-critical engineers and construction leads for the developers, operators and contractors building data centers across metro Phoenix, from Mesa to Goodyear and Avondale. CBRE’s North America Data Center Trends H1 2026 (August 27, 2026) counted 248.0 MW under construction in Phoenix. We run permanent searches, map who holds each role across the Valley and benchmark pay against dated local job ads.

Talk to us

Last updated

Isometric drawing of a circular compute hub: rack segments around a central cooling manifold, with a lime service ring.

What is being built

CBRE’s North America Data Center Trends H1 2026 (August 27, 2026) puts Phoenix at 1,069.2 MW of wholesale and colocation inventory, with 248.0 MW under construction and 225.5 MW of that preleased. CBRE names Prime, Stack and Aligned among the developers with significant projects underway. QTS and Vantage are on the same list.

JLL measures on a wider basis that includes capacity hyperscalers own, and on that basis says Phoenix “absorbed 442 MW amid 1.7 GW under construction” (JLL, August 11, 2026). The CBRE and JLL figures measure different things and should not be compared directly.

Named projects show the scale. Microsoft bought 100 more acres next to its 150-acre Goodyear campus and is also developing a campus in El Mirage (DCD, June 11, 2026). Prime Data Centers has broken ground on three of five buildings at its 240 MW PHX01 campus in Avondale, with the first three secured by a “leading hyperscaler” (DCD, May 22, 2026). Edged opened a 36 MW Mesa facility offering up to 400 kW per rack with liquid cooling (DCD, April 8, 2026).

The pipeline is large but contested. Project Baccara is Takanock’s plan for two data centers and a 700 MW natural gas plant near Luke Air Force Base (DCD, January 19, 2026). It has gained a Maricopa County permit, with construction set to begin in late 2026 (Construction Review Online, May 28, 2026). Vintage Partners dropped its Laveen data center after struggling with local regulations and power availability (DCD, March 5, 2026). EdgeCore shrank its Mesa plan from 2.1M SF to 1.2M SF before winning zoning approval (Bisnow, March 16, 2026).

Power, land and policy

Arizona has paused new data center tax relief. HB 4168 (Laws 2026, Chapter 140), approved by the governor on June 13, 2026, bars the Arizona Commerce Authority from accepting applications for new computer data center tax relief from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2029. No new data center qualifies in that period. The authority received 113 new applications in the two weeks before the pause (KJZZ, July 14, 2026). CBRE says the moratorium could affect development costs and timelines for future projects (August 27, 2026).

Power is the harder limit. At the Arizona Corporation Commission’s large-load workshop, summarized on April 20, 2026, SRP said it serves 59 large-load customers with a nearly 7,000 MW combined load, and APS estimated large-customer peak demand of approximately 13.1 gigawatts this year. APS’s own data center page, read October 11, 2026, shows a 19.0 GW uncommitted queue and says APS does not yet have enough power plants, transmission lines and key infrastructure to serve all new requests.

Water is the public argument. Federal Colorado River guidelines for 2027–2028 require 1.25 million acre-feet of reductions in deliveries, though the City of Phoenix says they do not immediately interrupt service or require mandatory restrictions for its customers (City of Phoenix, August 21, 2026). On August 31, 2026, Attorney General Mayes called for a statewide pause on approving and building new data centers. That is a call for legislation, not law.

Land is tightening city by city. CBRE says the availability of suitable powered land continues to decrease because of new restrictions and opposition from cities (August 27, 2026). Phoenix now asks data centers to address grid reliability, fire risk, emergency access and noise when applying for a special permit (City of Phoenix, July 2, 2025). Maricopa County allows them only in its IND-2 and IND-3 industrial districts (Bisnow, December 17, 2025). Pinal County supervisors rejected the La Osa campus 4-1 (KJZZ, August 26, 2026).

The people market

Electrical labor is the first constraint. Bisnow reported on April 27, 2025, that electrical subcontractors in Phoenix were split between 10 and 12 critical large-scale projects. New projects add to that: Takanock estimates Project Baccara will bring 1,000 construction jobs and 200 permanent roles (DCD, January 19, 2026).

Local training feeds technician and trades roles. Maricopa Community Colleges offers a Data Center Operations certificate built with QTS and taught at its Estrella and Mesa campuses. Microsoft runs 3-month and 9-month Datacenter Academy programs with Estrella Mountain and Glendale Community Colleges (Microsoft Local, read October 11, 2026). IBEW Local 640 trains union electricians through the Phoenix Electrical JATC.

Commissioning managers and senior mission-critical engineers are hired from people who have already brought a building into service. With the developers CBRE names all building in the Valley (August 27, 2026), several programs approach the same people. That is why we map who holds a role before a search opens.

Published pay gives a baseline. In ads we read on October 11, 2026, Amazon listed a base range of $116,800 to $160,000 a year for a Commissioning Engineer in Avondale and $111,300 to $186,100 a year for a Construction Manager in Mesa. Microsoft’s Phoenix ads give US-wide base ranges rather than local ones, so they are not in the table below.

Where the work is

  • Mesa

    Edged opened its 36 MW PHX01-1 at 8811 E. Warner Road (DCD, April 8, 2026). The Mesa area is also home to EdgeCore, NTT and Novva (DCD, January 19, 2026). The same DCD report places Meta, Apple and CyrusOne there too. EdgeCore won planning and zoning board approval on March 11, 2026, after cutting its plan from 2.1M SF to 1.2M SF (Bisnow, March 16, 2026).

  • Goodyear and El Mirage

    Microsoft bought 100 acres next to its 150-acre Goodyear campus and filed in November 2024 to take its El Mirage campus to five buildings (DCD, June 11, 2026). The same DCD report names Vantage, Compass and Stack as operators in Goodyear, along with QTS and Prime.

  • Avondale

    Prime’s 240 MW PHX01 campus sits on 66.5 acres at 3700 S. Avondale Boulevard, with three of five buildings under way (DCD, May 22, 2026). Amazon’s AWS commissioning team advertises a Commissioning Engineer role here (read October 11, 2026).

  • Glendale and Waddell

    Aligned bought 100 acres at 8785 N Reems Road in Waddell in December 2024 and broke ground on PHX-13, one of four planned buildings (DCD, April 17, 2025). Vantage and QTS are also developing in the Glendale area.

  • Buckeye and Tonopah

    Maricopa County approved zoning for a 2,000-acre data center site at Hassayampa Ranch near Buckeye (Connect CRE, December 15, 2025). It also rezoned 638 acres outside Tonopah, where a project narrative describes as many as nine data center buildings at full build-out (DCD, February 17, 2026). Buckeye’s mayor has invited data centers to land south of Interstate 10 (KJZZ, July 22, 2026).

What employers in Phoenix publish

  • Amazon (AWS)

    116,800.00 - 160,000.00 USD annually

    Commissioning Engineer, AWS Commissioning, AMER-West

    USA, AZ, Avondale. Base salary.

  • Amazon (AWS Infrastructure Services)

    111,300.00 - 186,100.00 USD annually

    Construction Manager, DC Construction, Data Center Construction

    USA, AZ, Mesa. Base salary.

  • Amazon (AWS)

    116,800.00 - 160,000.00 USD annually

    Electrical Engineer, Data Center, Colocation Regional Engineering - AMER

    USA, AZ, Tempe; USA, CA, Santa Clara; USA, AZ, Mesa. Base salary, Mesa and Tempe range (Santa Clara differs).

  • Amazon (AWS)

    136,600.00 - 184,800.00 USD annually

    Sr. Controls Engineer, Data Center, Colocation Regional Engineering - AMER

    USA, TX, Austin; USA, WA, Seattle; USA, GA, Atlanta; USA, CO, Denver; USA, VA, Herndon; USA, CA, Mountain View; USA, TX, Dallas; USA, AZ, Mesa. Base salary, Mesa range.

  • Aligned Data Centers

    $110,000 - $190,000

    Senior Integrated Design Manager

    PHX-04. Not stated; the ad adds “+ Bonus”.

  • Aligned Data Centers

    $200,000 - $230,000

    Senior Director, Preconstruction

    DFW01_02; PHX-07; IAD-02. Not stated; the ad adds “+ Bonus”.

Each employer links to its ad. All read October 11, 2026.

Questions buyers ask

Is it hard to hire data center commissioning engineers in Phoenix?
It can be, because several large programs draw on the same people. CBRE counted 248.0 MW under construction in Phoenix, 225.5 MW of it preleased (August 27, 2026). Amazon and Microsoft both had live commissioning ads in metro Phoenix when we read them on October 11, 2026. A search here starts by mapping who already holds the role and who else is hiring for it.
What does the Arizona tax moratorium mean for data center hiring?
It matters most for projects still being planned. HB 4168 stops new computer data center tax relief in Arizona from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2029, but it does not halt construction. CBRE says the moratorium could affect development costs and timelines for future projects (August 27, 2026). Campuses already under construction still need commissioning and construction teams.
Where in metro Phoenix are data centers being built?
In the East Valley, Mesa is home to operators including EdgeCore, NTT, Meta and Apple (DCD, January 19, 2026). In the West Valley, Microsoft is building in Goodyear and El Mirage, Prime in Avondale and Aligned in Waddell, and Maricopa County has rezoned large sites near Buckeye and Tonopah. Chandler has six data center campuses (KJZZ, July 22, 2026). Its city council rejected a proposed AI data center in December 2025 (KJZZ, December 12, 2025).
Do APS and SRP have the power for new data centers?
Not for every request yet. APS says it does not yet have enough power plants, transmission lines and key infrastructure to serve all new requests, and shows a 19.0 GW uncommitted queue (APS data center page, read October 11, 2026). SRP serves 59 large-load customers with a nearly 7,000 MW combined load (Arizona Corporation Commission, April 20, 2026). Power timing sets when a site needs its commissioning team, so we ask about the utility position at the brief.
How quickly can you put people in front of us for a Phoenix site?
We agree the shortlist timing with you at the brief call, based on the role and the market. We start with a written brief on the site, the systems and the travel, then map who holds the role across the Valley.

Terms on this page

MW
Megawatt. Data center size is usually given in megawatts of power capacity.
GW
Gigawatt: 1,000 megawatts.
H1
The first half of the year, January to June.
APS
Arizona Public Service, Arizona’s largest electric utility.
SRP
Salt River Project, a public power and water utility serving the Phoenix area.

Sources

  1. 01

    CBRE, Phoenix Data Center Market (North America Data Center Trends H1 2026)

    Dated Aug 27, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. cbre.com

  2. 02
  3. 03

    DatacenterDynamics (DCD), Microsoft purchases 100 acres next to existing data center campus in Goodyear, Arizona

    Dated Jun 11, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. datacenterdynamics.com

  4. 04

    DatacenterDynamics (DCD), Prime Data Centers breaks ground on three out of five buildings at its 240MW campus in Phoenix, Arizona

    Dated May 22, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. datacenterdynamics.com

  5. 05

    DatacenterDynamics (DCD), Edged launches 36MW data center in Phoenix, Arizona

    Dated Apr 8, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. datacenterdynamics.com

  6. 06

    DatacenterDynamics (DCD), Two data center projects proposed near Phoenix, Arizona

    Dated Jan 19, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. datacenterdynamics.com

Show all 30 sources
  1. 07

    Construction Review Online, $10bn Project Baccara Data Center in Maricopa County, Arizona Approved as Opposition Mounts

    Dated May 28, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. constructionreviewonline.com

  2. 08

    DatacenterDynamics (DCD), Vintage Partners scraps Phoenix, Arizona, data center plans

    Dated Mar 5, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. datacenterdynamics.com

  3. 09

    Bisnow, EdgeCore Gains Zoning Approval For Scaled-Back Mesa Data Center

    Dated Mar 16, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. bisnow.com

  4. 10

    Arizona Legislature, House Bill 4168, Chapter 140, taxation; omnibus; 2026-2027

    Dated Jun 13, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. azleg.gov

  5. 11
  6. 12

    Arizona Corporation Commission, ACC Data Center/Large Load Workshop Highlights

    Dated Apr 20, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. azcc.gov

  7. 13

    APS, Data Centers

    Read Oct 11, 2026. aps.com

  8. 14

    City of Phoenix, Phoenix Calls for New Federal Funds, Basin-Wide Action Following Colorado River Decision

    Dated Aug 21, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. web-prod.phoenix.gov

  9. 15
  10. 16

    City of Phoenix, City of Phoenix Updates Zoning to Safeguard Health and Safety as Data Center Growth Accelerates

    Dated Jul 2, 2025. Read Oct 11, 2026. phoenix.gov

  11. 17

    Bisnow, Maricopa County To Modernize Zoning Rules Around Data Centers

    Dated Dec 17, 2025. Read Oct 11, 2026. bisnow.com

  12. 18
  13. 19

    Bisnow, Phoenix May Not Have The Workers To Build Its Big Data Center Pipeline

    Dated Apr 27, 2025. Read Oct 11, 2026. bisnow.com

  14. 20

    Arizona Technology Council, Data center partners with Arizona community colleges for workforce

    Read Oct 11, 2026. aztechcouncil.org

  15. 21

    Microsoft Local, Build the skills to work at our Microsoft Phoenix datacenters

    Read Oct 11, 2026. local.microsoft.com

  16. 22

    IBEW Local 640, About IBEW Local 640

    Read Oct 11, 2026. ibew640.com

  17. 23

    DatacenterDynamics (DCD), Aligned breaks ground on data center in Phoenix, Arizona

    Dated Apr 17, 2025. Read Oct 11, 2026. datacenterdynamics.com

  18. 24

    Connect CRE, $25B Data Center Greenlit Near Buckeye

    Dated Dec 15, 2025. Read Oct 11, 2026. connectcre.com

  19. 25

    DatacenterDynamics (DCD), 2.25 million sq ft data center campus proposed outside Phoenix, Arizona

    Dated Feb 17, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. datacenterdynamics.com

  20. 26
  21. 27

    KJZZ, This Arizona city council rejected a proposed AI data center

    Dated Dec 12, 2025. Read Oct 11, 2026. kjzz.org

  22. 28

    Amazon, Commissioning Engineer, AWS Commissioning, AMER-West

    Dated Aug 27, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. amazon.jobs

  23. 29

    Amazon, Construction Manager, DC Construction, Data Center Construction

    Dated Sep 3, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. amazon.jobs

  24. 30

    Microsoft, Commissioning Manager

    Dated Sep 25, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. apply.careers.microsoft.com

Building a team in Phoenix?

A 30-minute call. We write the brief back to you.