Skip to content
Kernavique
Menu

Roles · Data center infrastructure

Mission-critical electrical and mechanical engineers for data centers

A mission-critical engineer designs, builds or runs the electrical and mechanical systems a data center cannot lose: power distribution, UPS, generators and cooling. Hyperscalers, AI cloud providers and engineering consultancies hire them for site design, construction and operations, and Kernavique fills these roles through permanent search. Amazon published a base range of $136,600 to $184,800 for a Sr. Electrical Engineer, Data Center Engineering, in Atlanta, Columbus, Austin, Herndon and Seattle (read October 11, 2026).

Talk to us

Last updated

Isometric cutaway of an enclosed data center with roof sections lifted, server rows inside and lime cooling pipework to chillers outside.

Mission-critical engineer

What the role does

  • Develops a site’s electrical or mechanical design from basis of design to issued-for-construction drawings.
  • Answers requests for information with the engineer of record and keeps design changes under change control.
  • Runs short-circuit, coordination, arc-flash and load-flow studies, and reviews consultant and contractor drawings.
  • Oversees the design, construction and commissioning of electrical distribution, and resolves site issues during construction.
  • Attends factory witness tests and works with commissioning teams to test and validate installations.
  • On a running site, acts as the technical expert for the critical systems, sets maintenance and safety procedures and supports 24x7 operations.

Skills and credentials

  • PE license

    Google, CoreWeave and Oracle prefer it in their data center engineering ads, and Olsson lists “Licensed PE” as a requirement for its Lead Electrical Engineer - Data Centers. State licensing boards issue it, and most states require four years of verifiable work experience (NCEES).

  • EIT/FE

    Microsoft’s Critical Environment Electrical Engineer ad prefers Engineer-in-Training (EIT/FE) certification or a PE license. NCEES says people seeking a license typically must pass both the FE exam and the PE exam.

  • Mission-critical experience

    Google asks for 5 years in mission-critical design and construction for its Data Center Electrical Engineer, CoreWeave asks for 7+ years in data center engineering, and Olsson’s lead role asks for 13+ years of electrical engineering experience.

  • Power system studies

    CoreWeave’s Senior Data Center Electrical Engineer runs short-circuit, coordination, arc-flash and load-flow studies, and supports site due diligence on utility power.

  • HVAC and cooling design

    Google’s Data Center Mechanical Engineer ad asks for 5 years of HVAC design, construction and commissioning, and Lambda advertises a Staff Mechanical Engineer role for data center cooling.

  • Design tools and industry credentials

    Olsson asks for Revit and construction-administration experience. CoreWeave says certifications from Uptime Institute, BICSI or similar are a plus.

What the market pays

  • Google

    US: $144,000 to $208,000

    Data Center Electrical Engineer

    Bridgeport, CT, USA. Not stated; bonus target and equity on top.

  • Amazon (AWS)

    $136,600 to $184,800 a year

    Sr. Electrical Engineer, Data Center Engineering

    USA, GA, Atlanta; OH, Columbus; TX, Austin; VA, Herndon; WA, Seattle. Base salary, same for each listed location.

  • Amazon (AWS)

    $136,600 to $184,800 a year

    Sr. Mechanical Engineer, Data Center, Colocation Regional Engineering - AMER

    USA, GA, Atlanta; VA, Herndon. Base salary.

  • Amazon (AWS)

    Mesa/Tempe: $116,800 to $160,000 a year; Santa Clara: $134,300 to $185,000 a year

    Electrical Engineer, Data Center, Colocation Regional Engineering - AMER

    USA, AZ, Mesa; AZ, Tempe; CA, Santa Clara. Base salary.

  • Microsoft

    IC3: $102,100 to $202,200 a year

    Critical Environment Electrical Engineer

    United States, Iowa, Des Moines. Base salary, typical U.S. range (not local).

  • Microsoft

    IC3: $102,100 to $202,200; IC4: $119,800 to $234,700 a year

    Critical Environment Mechanical Engineer

    Georgia: Atlanta, Fayetteville, Milledgeville, Cartersville, East Point, Lithia Springs, Palmetto. Base salary, typical U.S. range (not local).

  • CoreWeave

    $157,000 to $210,000

    Senior Data Center Electrical Engineer

    Livingston, NJ / New York, NY / Sunnyvale, CA / San Francisco, CA / Bellevue, WA. Base salary.

  • Oracle

    $126,200 to $264,100 a year

    Senior Data Center Design Mechanical Engineer

    United States. Not stated; hiring range, bonus and equity separate.

  • Olsson

    $130,000 to $190,000 a year

    Lead Electrical Engineer - Data Centers

    Chicago, IL; Dallas, TX; Denver, CO; Lincoln, NE; Minnesota - Remote; Oklahoma - Remote; Omaha, NE; Remote; St. Louis, MO; Wisconsin - Remote. Not stated; national salary range.

  • Lambda

    $349K – $465K

    Staff Mechanical Engineer - Data Center Cooling

    San Francisco Office (Fremont St); San Jose Office (First St). Not stated; annual salary range.

Ranges are copied as each employer published them. Microsoft’s are typical US ranges rather than local ones, Olsson’s is a national range, and Google’s excludes its bonus target and equity. Each employer links to its ad. All read October 11, 2026.

How we fill it

  • Permanent mission-critical electrical and mechanical engineers for design, construction or operations roles. We brief on the systems and the project stage the role covers, because that changes who we approach.

  • Before a search in a new hub, we map which owners, contractors and consultancies employ mission-critical engineers there, and what would move them.

  • Pay for mission-critical electrical and mechanical roles by hub and level, with every figure tied to a named employer and a dated job ad.

In demand in: Northern Virginia, Atlanta, Columbus, Phoenix, Dallas–Fort Worth

Questions buyers ask

What does a mission-critical engineer earn?
In ads we read on October 11, 2026, Amazon published a base range of $136,600 to $184,800 for a Sr. Electrical Engineer, Data Center Engineering, the same in Atlanta, Columbus, Austin, Herndon and Seattle. Google published $144,000 to $208,000 for a Data Center Electrical Engineer in Bridgeport, Connecticut, with a bonus target and equity on top. For comparison, the Bureau of Labor Statistics put 2025 median pay for all electrical and electronics engineers at $125,040 (Occupational Outlook Handbook, last modified August 27, 2026).
Does a mission-critical engineer need a PE license?
It is more often preferred than required. Google, CoreWeave and Oracle prefer a PE license in their data center engineering ads, while Olsson lists “Licensed PE” as a requirement for its Lead Electrical Engineer - Data Centers. Microsoft’s Critical Environment Electrical Engineer ad prefers EIT/FE certification or a PE license.
What is the difference between a design engineer and a critical environment engineer?
A design engineer, such as Google’s Data Center Electrical Engineer, takes a site from basis of design to issued-for-construction drawings and answers requests for information with the engineer of record. A critical environment engineer, as Microsoft titles the role, is the on-site technical expert for a running mission-critical system, setting maintenance and safety procedures and supporting 24x7 operations. Tell us which you need at the brief, because the specification and the people we approach differ.
Are mechanical engineers for newer cooling systems hard to find?
Industry reporting says they are. In Data Center Knowledge’s report of July 22, 2026, Lisa Duignan of Turner & Townsend named HVAC professionals at the forefront of newer cooling technologies among the most challenging critical roles to fill. At the senior end, Lambda published $349K – $465K for a Staff Mechanical Engineer - Data Center Cooling in San Francisco and San Jose (read October 11, 2026).
How soon will we see people?
We agree the shortlist timing with you at the brief call, based on the role and the market. The shortlist names real people, with our notes on the systems each has worked on.

Terms on this page

HVAC
Heating, ventilation and air conditioning.
UPS
Uninterruptible power supply: equipment that keeps critical loads running through a power interruption.

Sources

  1. 01

    Google, Data Center Electrical Engineer (job ad)

    Read Oct 11, 2026. google.com

  2. 02

    Google, Data Center Mechanical Engineer (job ad)

    Read Oct 11, 2026. google.com

  3. 03

    Amazon, Sr. Electrical Engineer, Data Center Engineering (job ad)

    Dated Sep 15, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. amazon.jobs

  4. 04

    Amazon, Sr. Mechanical Engineer, Data Center, Colocation Regional Engineering - AMER (job ad)

    Dated Jul 28, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. amazon.jobs

  5. 05

    Amazon, Electrical Engineer, Data Center, Colocation Regional Engineering - AMER (job ad)

    Dated Sep 15, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. amazon.jobs

  6. 06

    Microsoft, Critical Environment Electrical Engineer (job ad)

    Dated Oct 8, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. apply.careers.microsoft.com

Show all 18 sources
  1. 07

    Microsoft, Critical Environment Mechanical Engineer (job ad)

    Dated Sep 3, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. apply.careers.microsoft.com

  2. 08

    CoreWeave, Senior Data Center Electrical Engineer (job ad)

    Dated Sep 24, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. coreweave.com

  3. 09

    Oracle, Senior Data Center Design Mechanical Engineer (job ad)

    Dated Aug 27, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. careers.oracle.com

  4. 10

    Oracle, Principal Data Center Design Electrical Engineer (job ad)

    Dated Aug 5, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. careers.oracle.com

  5. 11

    Olsson, Lead Electrical Engineer - Data Centers (job ad)

    Dated Aug 3, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. job-boards.greenhouse.io

  6. 12

    Lambda, Staff Mechanical Engineer - Data Center Cooling (job ad)

    Dated Sep 11, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. jobs.ashbyhq.com

  7. 13

    Turner & Townsend, Growth of AI infrastructure driving job creation in global construction market

    Dated Jul 8, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. turnerandtownsend.com

  8. 14

    Data Center Knowledge, AI Data Center Boom Strains Global Construction Capacity

    Dated Jul 22, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. datacenterknowledge.com

  9. 15

    U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Electrical and Electronics Engineers

    Dated Aug 27, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. bls.gov

  10. 16

    U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Mechanical Engineers

    Dated Aug 27, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. bls.gov

  11. 17

    NCEES, Licensure | NCEES

    Read Oct 11, 2026. ncees.org

  12. 18

    NCEES, PE Exam | NCEES

    Read Oct 11, 2026. ncees.org

Hiring for this role?

A 30-minute call. We write the brief back to you.