Skip to content
Kernavique
Menu

Roles · Data center infrastructure

Commissioning managers and CxAs for data center programs

A commissioning manager brings a data center’s electrical and mechanical systems into service: planning the tests, witnessing them, closing out deficiencies and completing turnover. The CxA, or commissioning authority, leads that work on a project. Hyperscalers, AI cloud providers and commissioning firms all hire the role, and Kernavique fills it through permanent search. Amazon published a base range of $136,000 to $184,000 for a Commissioning Area Manager in Herndon, Virginia (read October 11, 2026).

Talk to us

Last updated

Exploded isometric drawing of a data center: roof with cooling units, service trays with lime pipework, steel frame, server racks and raised floor.

Commissioning manager and CxA

What the role does

  • Owns commissioning for the data center projects at a site or in a metro, and manages the commissioning agent the owner has contracted.
  • Develops and reviews commissioning plans, procedures and standards, and drives commissioning scope and schedule.
  • Oversees the installation and testing of generators, UPS, electrical distribution, chillers, chilled water, BMS and EPMS.
  • Leads factory witness testing, functional testing and integrated systems testing, and checks each system is ready to energize.
  • Tracks deficiencies to closure and makes sure turnover documentation is complete before handover.
  • Coordinates the vendors and contractors doing the work, and reports progress, quality and lessons learned to management.

Skills and credentials

  • ACG Certified Commissioning Authority (CxA)

    Issued by AABC Commissioning Group (ACG). The exam is multiple choice and based on the U.S. Department of Energy’s occupational guidelines for building commissioning professionals; ACG counted 1,216 active CxAs as of January 1, 2026.

  • Certified Commissioning Professional (CCP)

    Issued by the Building Commissioning Certification Board (BCCB), not by AEE. A licensed architect or PE needs 3 years of commissioning experience to qualify, and a building sciences graduate needs 5.

  • AEE Certified Building Commissioning Professional (CBCP)

    Issued by the Association of Energy Engineers (AEE). Every applicant must attend an approved training program.

  • ASHRAE Building Commissioning Professional (BCxP)

    Issued by ASHRAE. Applicants must have taken part in three commissioning projects and pass the computer-based BCxP exam.

  • NEBB Building Systems Commissioning Certified Professional (CxCP)

    Issued by NEBB, which also certifies commissioning firms. A NEBB-certified firm must have operated for at least 12 months and designate a Certified Professional.

  • PE license and OSHA 30

    A PE license is issued by a state licensing board, and most states require four years of verifiable work experience (NCEES). OSHA 30 is a course completion card from OSHA-authorized trainers, which OSHA says suits supervisors or workers with some safety responsibility.

What the market pays

  • 1,216

    Active ACG Certified Commissioning Authorities (CxA) as of January 1, 2026: a count of one credential, not of everyone who commissions.

    ACG, Apply for CxA Certification, read October 11, 2026

  • 84 of 145

    People approved to sit the CxA exam in the 12 months to December 31, 2025, who passed it: a 58% pass rate (ACG).

    ACG, Apply for CxA Certification, read October 11, 2026

  • 87%

    Share of the markets Turner & Townsend analyzed that reported shortages in mechanical, electrical and plumbing trades (July 8, 2026).

    Turner & Townsend, press release, July 8, 2026

  • Amazon (AWS)

    $136,000 to $184,000 a year

    Commissioning Area Manager, AWS Retro Commissioning

    USA, VA, Herndon. Base salary.

  • Amazon (AWS)

    $116,800 to $160,000 a year

    Commissioning Engineer, AWS Commissioning, AMER-West

    USA, AZ, Avondale. Base salary.

  • Amazon (AWS)

    $116,800 to $160,000 a year

    Retro Commissioning Engineer Lead, AMER-Central ACx

    USA, OH, Columbus. Base salary.

  • Microsoft

    IC4: $119,800 to $234,700 a year

    Commissioning Manager

    United States, Texas, Pecos. Base salary, typical U.S. range (not local).

  • Oracle

    $126,200 to $264,100 a year

    Lead Principal Data Center Commissioning

    Abilene, TX; TX. Not stated; hiring range, bonus and equity separate.

  • Oracle

    $102,300 to $209,500 a year

    Principal Data Center Commissioning Engineer-Dallas/DFW area

    Frisco, Irving, Queen City, Allen, TX. Not stated; hiring range, bonus and equity separate.

  • CoreWeave

    $143,000 to $191,000

    Data Center Commissioning/Quality Manager

    Livingston, NJ / New York, NY / Sunnyvale, CA / San Francisco, CA / Bellevue, WA. Base salary.

  • Crusoe

    up to $175,000 - $215,000 + Bonus

    Senior Staff Commissioning Engineer, Electrical

    Dallas, TX. Not stated; plus bonus, RSUs separate.

  • Commissioning Agents, Inc. (CAI)

    $128,300 to $150,800 a year

    Data Center Services Commissioning Project Manager

    Charlotte, North Carolina / Raleigh, North Carolina. Not stated; average salary range, excludes benefits and bonuses.

  • Olsson

    $90,000 to $140,000 a year

    Commissioning Agent - Data Center (Travel Required)

    Remote. Not stated; national salary range, bonus separate.

Ranges are copied as each employer published them, and some span several levels. Microsoft’s is a typical US range rather than a local one, Olsson’s is a national range and Crusoe publishes “up to” a span plus bonus. Each employer links to its ad. All read October 11, 2026.

How we fill it

  • Permanent commissioning managers, commissioning engineers and CxA leads for a named site or program. We brief on the systems and test stages the role covers, because that changes who we approach.

  • When a program needs a commissioning manager and several engineers, we hire the lead first so they can shape the rest of the team.

  • Before a search in a new hub, we map who holds commissioning roles there, which owners and firms employ them, and what would move them.

  • Pay for commissioning roles by hub and level, with every figure tied to a named employer and a dated job ad.

In demand in: Northern Virginia, Columbus, Phoenix, Dallas–Fort Worth

Questions buyers ask

What does a data center commissioning manager earn?
In ads we read on October 11, 2026, Amazon published a base range of $136,000 to $184,000 for a Commissioning Area Manager in Herndon, Virginia. Oracle’s ad, read the same day, gives $126,200 to $264,100 for its Lead Principal Data Center Commissioning role in Abilene, Texas. Microsoft gives a typical US base range of $119,800 to $234,700 for its IC4 Commissioning Manager. Every ad is linked in the table above.
What is the difference between a CxA and a commissioning manager?
CxA means the commissioning authority or agent, the party that leads commissioning on a project, and ACG also issues a credential called Certified Commissioning Authority (CxA). Commissioning manager is a job title. At Microsoft, for example, the Commissioning Manager owns commissioning for the data centers in a metro and manages the contracted Commissioning Agent.
Which certifications should a commissioning manager hold?
The ads we read prefer a commissioning credential, plus safety and project management training. Oracle’s Lead Principal Data Center Commissioning ad prefers the CCP, the CxA, Uptime Institute ATD or AOS, OSHA 30, NFPA 70E electrical safety training, PMP and ASQ quality certifications. Microsoft’s Commissioning Manager ad prefers a commissioning certification plus OSHA 30, NFPA 70E or PMP. The CCP comes from BCCB, not AEE; AEE’s commissioning credential is the CBCP.
Why are commissioning managers hard to hire?
Demand is high and the credentials take years to earn. In Data Center Knowledge’s report of July 22, 2026, Lisa Duignan of Turner & Townsend named commissioning agents and engineers among the most challenging critical roles to fill. The CCP and the BCxP need at least 3 years of commissioning experience, even for a licensed architect or PE, and ACG counted 1,216 active CxAs as of January 1, 2026.
Do you place commissioning managers permanently or on contract?
Permanently. Search fills commissioning and other data center site roles as permanent hires. Our contract practice, Capacity, supplies AI platform engineers rather than site teams.

Terms on this page

UPS
Uninterruptible power supply: equipment that keeps critical loads running through a power interruption.
BMS
Building management system: the controls that monitor and run a building’s mechanical and electrical plant.
EPMS
Electrical power monitoring system: monitors a data center’s electrical distribution.
CxA
Commissioning authority, also called a commissioning agent: the party that checks a building’s systems are installed and perform as designed. ACG also issues a credential of the same name.
ACG
AABC Commissioning Group, which issues the Certified Commissioning Authority (CxA) credential.
CCP
Certified Commissioning Professional, a credential issued by the Building Commissioning Certification Board (BCCB).
BCCB
Building Commissioning Certification Board, which issues the CCP credential.
BCxP
Building Commissioning Professional, a credential issued by ASHRAE.
CBCP
Certified Building Commissioning Professional, a credential issued by the Association of Energy Engineers (AEE).
AEE
Association of Energy Engineers, which issues the CBCP credential.
CxCP
Building Systems Commissioning Certified Professional, a credential issued by NEBB.
NEBB
National Environmental Balancing Bureau, which certifies commissioning, testing and balancing professionals and firms.
OSHA
Occupational Safety and Health Administration, the US federal workplace safety agency. OSHA 10 and OSHA 30 are its outreach training courses.
NFPA
National Fire Protection Association, which publishes US fire and electrical safety standards such as NFPA 70E.

Sources

  1. 01

    Turner & Townsend, Growth of AI infrastructure driving job creation in global construction market (press release)

    Dated Jul 8, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. turnerandtownsend.com

  2. 02

    Amazon, Commissioning Area Manager, AWS Retro Commissioning (job ad)

    Dated Aug 27, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. amazon.jobs

  3. 03

    Amazon, Commissioning Engineer, AWS Commissioning, AMER-West (job ad)

    Dated Aug 27, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. amazon.jobs

  4. 04

    Amazon, Retro Commissioning Engineer Lead, AMER-Central ACx (job ad)

    Dated Apr 23, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. amazon.jobs

  5. 05

    Microsoft, Commissioning Manager, Pecos, Texas (job ad)

    Dated Oct 8, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. apply.careers.microsoft.com

  6. 06

    Oracle, Lead Principal Data Center Commissioning (job ad)

    Dated Oct 5, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. careers.oracle.com

Show all 21 sources
  1. 07

    Oracle, Principal Data Center Commissioning Engineer-Dallas/DFW area (job ad)

    Dated Sep 2, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. careers.oracle.com

  2. 08

    CoreWeave, Data Center Commissioning/Quality Manager (job ad)

    Dated Jul 28, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. coreweave.com

  3. 09

    Crusoe, Senior Staff Commissioning Engineer, Electrical (job ad)

    Dated Aug 12, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. jobs.ashbyhq.com

  4. 10

    Commissioning Agents, Inc. (CAI), Data Center Services Commissioning Project Manager (job ad)

    Dated Apr 24, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. jobs.lever.co

  5. 11

    Olsson, Commissioning Agent - Data Center (Travel Required) (job ad)

    Dated Apr 14, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. job-boards.greenhouse.io

  6. 12

    Data Center Knowledge, AI Data Center Boom Strains Global Construction Capacity

    Dated Jul 22, 2026. Read Oct 11, 2026. datacenterknowledge.com

  7. 13

    AABC Commissioning Group (ACG), Apply for CxA Certification - ACG: AABC Commissioning Group

    Read Oct 11, 2026. commissioning.org

  8. 14

    Building Commissioning Certification Board, ccp - Building Commissioning Certification Board

    Read Oct 11, 2026. bccbonline.org

  9. 15

    Association of Energy Engineers, Get a Certification in Building Commissioning - CBCP | AEE®

    Read Oct 11, 2026. aeecenter.org

  10. 16
  11. 17
  12. 18
  13. 19

    NCEES, Licensure | NCEES

    Read Oct 11, 2026. ncees.org

  14. 20

    NCEES, PE Exam | NCEES

    Read Oct 11, 2026. ncees.org

  15. 21

Hiring for this role?

A 30-minute call. We write the brief back to you.